The Roman Catholic Church, is the largest Christian sect with about 1.3 adherents. It has, famously, its own “country”—the Vatican. The church consists of 24 particular churches and almost 3,500 dioceses and eparchies around the world all presided over by the pope. The bishopric of Rome, known as the Holy See, is the central governing authority of the church.