The Preface — p1 notes

the philological particularities of each language.

This often unnoticed first paragraph of the book declares unambiguously that the book has been written philologically.

This is a necessity anyway, for the book to be objective. 

Three books

There is clearly only one book under the title Meetings With Remarkable Men. However, you can divide that book into three parts formed by the chapters 2, 3, 4 (My Father, My First Tutor, Bogachevsky) as Book 1, the next three chapters (Mr. X or Captain Pogossian, Abram Yelov, Prince Yuri Lubovedsky) as Book 2 and the final three (Ekim Bey, Piotr Karpenko, Professor Skridlov) as Book three.

Solita Solano reportedly commented that Chapters 8, 9 and 10 were about the Kesdjan body.

Four books

It is difficult to see how one can divide up  “Life is Real Only Then, When ‘I Am.’ ” into four books.

This is clearly an intentional inexactitude. What it indicates is unclear.

by centuries rooted in him

In other words, beliefs inherited from parents and grandparents and our culture. Much of our beliefs whether religious, artistic, philosophical, scientific, or political are inherited in some.

Gurdjieff wishes, uncompromisingly, to replace them all.

everything existing in the world

We can presume that he means “everything” just as in the title of the book he means “everything.” There is no implication here of any compromise whatsoever.